You are here

Faculty & Staff

Ferré, Eric
Director and Professor
Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 336
Phone: (337) 482-2888
E-mail: eric.ferre@louisiana.edu

Research interests: lithosphere deformation (hard rocks) from seismic to geologic deformation; paleomagnetism; rock magnetism.

Cornell, Kristie
Instructor
Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 325
Phone: (337) 482-1455
E-mail: kcornell@louisiana.edu

Publications

Costigan, Katie
Assistant Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 332
Phone: (337) 482-6340
E-mail: costigan@louisiana.edu
Website

Research Interests: Stream hydrology; fluvial geomorphology; open channel hydraulics; stream ecology.

Publications.

Duex, Timothy
Associate Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 337
Phone: (337) 482-6222
E-mail: tduex@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Igneous Petrology, Volcanology, Environmental Geology, Groundwater.

Publications.

Finley, William
Adjunct Instructor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 325
Phone: (337) 482-6064
E-mail: wrfinley@rocmando.com

Foret, James
Instructor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 325
Phone: (337) 482-6064
E-mail:

Publications

Gottardi, Raphaël
Associate Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 311
Phone: (337) 482-6177
E-mail: gottardi@louisiana.edu
Website

Research Interests: Tectonic processes (e.g., crustal thickening, orogenic collapse, metamorphic core complexes, etc.), and modeling fluid flow and heat transfer in fault zones.

Publications.

Hargrave, Jennifer
Instructor, 
Associate Curator of UL Geology Museum
Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 327
Phone: (337) 482-0678
E-mail: jhargrave@louisiana.edu

Website

Research Interests: Paleontology, sedimentary processes; depositional systems; geoscience education and outreach. 

Publications.

Hillman, Aubrey
Assistant Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 333
Phone: (337) 482-5162
E-mail: aubrey.hillman@louisiana.edu
Website

Research interests: paleolimnology, lake sediment geochemistry, stable isotopes, paleoclimatology

Kinsland, Gary
Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 321
Phone: (337) 482-0693
E-mail: gkinsland@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Seismic and potential-field geophysics, coalbed natural gas resources, 3-D immersive virtual reality, and the Chixulub impact.

Publications.

Lock, Brian
Professor 
Emeritus
Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 334
Phone: (337) 482-6823
E-mail: belock@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Sedimentology and petroleum geology.

Publications.

Ma, Ming
Postdoctoral Researcher
Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 326
E-mail: ming.ma@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Exploration Geophysics, Seismic Inversion

Martin, James
Research Professor and Paleontological Curator

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 335
Geology Museum: 433 Jefferson St, Lafayette, LA 70501
Phone: (337) 482-6468
E-mail: jim.martin929@gmail.com

Research Interests: Vertebrate paleontology.

Publications

Morra Gabriele
Associate Professor
Office: Broussard 208 B
Phone: (337) 482-6692
E-mail: morra@louisiana.edu

Research interests:Computational Geophysics, Geodynamics, Volcanology, Planetary Science.

Publications.

Oppo, Davide
Assistant Professor
Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 312
Phone: (337) 482-6676
E-mail: davide.oppo@louisiana.edu
 
Research Interests: Cold seepage; Sedimentology; Marine geology; Petroleum Geology; Tsunami

Poudel, Durga
Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 308
Phone: (337) 482-6163
E-mail: ddpoudel@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Soil science, water quality, sustainable agriculture.

Publications.

Richter, Carl
Associate Dean, Ray P. Authement College of Sciences
Robert C. and Barbara Pettit Endowed Professor of Geology
Office: Oliver Hall, Suite 201
Phone: (337) 482-2977
E-mail: richter@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: paleomagnetism, geomagnetism, environmental magnetism, and ocean drilling.

Publications

Schubert, Brian
Associate Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 315
Phone: (337) 482-6967
E-mail: schubert@louisiana.edu
Website

Research Interests: Geobiology, stable isotope geochemistry, paleoclimate, global climate change, geomicrobiology, evaporite sedimentology.

Publications.

Visser, Jenneke
Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 318
Phone: (337) 482-6966
E-mail: jvisser@louisiana.edu

Research Interests: Wetland plant ecology, coastal restoration, monitoring and assessment.

Publications.

Xu, Yingfeng
Technician

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room
Phone: (337) 482-1113
E-mail: yingfeng@louisiana.edu

Zhang, Rui
Assistant Professor

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 313
Phone: (337) 482-6920
E-mail: ruizhang@louisiana.edu
Website

Research Interests: Exploration geophysics, reflection seismology, inverse theory, CO2 sequestration.

Publications.

Bienvenu, Nadean
Administrative Assistant

Office: Hamilton Hall, Room 323
Phone: (337) 482-6647
E-mail: environmental@louisiana.edu